Barrel Harmonics????

tiny68

I am trying to tune my 6BR. I am new to this caliber. Rifle is a Savage Target Action in a SSS LVT stock with a 28" Krieger 1:10 twist 0.272 neck 6BR. I shooting 95 BIB set 0.010" into the lands. I ran the load ladders with three different powders: Varget, RE-15, and RE-17. I shot the ladders at 300 yds. I chronied each shot and got velocity at each 0.3 gr increment. I originally plotted the velocity versus charge to look for patterns in velocity and stable regions and then looked for regions of minimum vertical on the target. I decided to calculate the bullet drop using the initial muzzle velocity and Randy's listed B.C. (0.45) with the PCB ballistics software. I took this drop due to gravity (all as negative values) and added it to the vertical deviation from the point of aim for each target. I know I have read something like this below. I was trying to calculated a corrected vertical deviation. In my simple mind this should yield something similar to the barrel vibration (sine type wave) as the end of the barrel whips up and down at different powder charges. The attachment shows my results with all three powders when plotting this corrected vertical versus the muzzle velocity.

What the heck am I seeing? Never tried this before. Certainly not a sine wave. I am wondering if this is the multiple modes of vibration. Something happens at 3050-3060 fps with every powder. Is this a node? Or is this data trash since each point only represent a single shot and it has no statistically value. However, I see a pattern.... but I don't know what to make of it.

Any of you barrel harmonic pros want to straighten me out here.... I'm a little lost.

Here is a different link with my complete load data if it helps. http://www.websitetoolbox.com/tool/post/6mmbr/vpost?id=3205403

Corrected Vertical Displacement versus Velocity

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t151/tiny68_photos/CorrectedVertical6BR.jpg

Thanks for any clues, tiny

tiny68,