Attack of the 40X

32paperholes

New guy here. Hello! I just joined a 22 bench rest shooting club. I thought I had a nice CZ to compete. Found out I was in way over my head. Most of the guys are using the 40X. One of the members wants to sell me a Sako Finnfire with Lilja barrell, Don Stith benchrest stock, a Jewell trigger and a Weaver 36X scope. Can this Sako keep up with all those 40Xes? Thanks (22lr, 50 yards)

Good Luck

Hi 32paperholes,
Welcome to the forum.
Your post brings a smile to my face, it reminds me of myself when I started shooting bench rest.
Some fellows shoot the CZ with good results and the Sako you described has all the hallmarks of a good BR gun.
I would recommend shooting the Sako, I’m sure the owner won’t mind.
Shoot five shot groups and put a hundred rounds down range.
What you will most likely find is a top notch rifle.
Don’t worry if the groups are a little large at first, with lots of practice they will get smaller.
Good luck.

Bob

This is my third year of shooting 22 rimfire benchrest. And lucky enough to have shot most all major events multiple times.
Ask yourself why is the gun for sale and the member not using it himself?
Do test the gun.
Is the trigger pull satisfactory?
Good groups using decent ammo achievable?
Can it shoot a satisfying score?
And If you’re a novice and unsure of your abilities have the member show you the rifles capabilities.
IMO purchasing the best gun you can afford from the get go is the only way to go. Don’t “work your way up”.
For no other reason than to see what other competitors are using go to the professional shooting league website. Look under results. In the results is listed the equipment list of the shooters. And please don’t think because the league name has professional in the title voodoo is involved.
Rimfire benchrest.... barrels and ammo. Barrels and ammo. Barrels and ammo.