25-06 to 6x284

J

jaybic

Hello,

I have a buddy that would like to make his Rem 700 (25-06 long action) into a 6x284(is this a short or long action, I dont know). Can he just order up a 6x284 barrel and have it put on or are there bolt face size issues or does the action length have a bearing on things. I also seen something about this case having a rebated rim and am not sure what that means exactly. Is it like a .50 beowolf with the smaller case head diameter?

My apologies but this is not something I am an expert on and I am trying to help him get some advice before starting this project.

What kind of issues can he expect to encounter or is there a more suitable action/caliber to start with. This is a hunting rifle if that helps put things in perspective at all.

Thanks for your time and have a great day!:)

Jamie

The bolt face won't pose any problem. They are both the same. The 6x284 is a rebated rim cartridge just as the Beowolf is. Meaning the case body is bigger than the rim. It should work well in a 25-06 long action Remington action. Feeding is not quite as smooth as the longer and thinner cases provide.---Mike

He is good to go with what he has to work with. I had a 6.5X284 built out of a 3006. I am sure he knows he will have to neck down to get to the 6X 284 but it should be just a one step deal using 6.5 brass. I would at least have the action and bolt face squared and the lugs lapped before I spent the cash on a custom barrel installation.
Terry Pohl

There are several good choices. After I shot out two 25-06 barrels on my Rem 40X I switched to 25 BR, 25-08 and 6.5-284 barrels.

The 25 BR is a joy to shoot. @ 300 yards recoil is so light I can see the bullets before they go into the target. The 25-08 has velocity equal to the 25-06 with better precision and less recoil. THe 6.5-284 with the 140 match bullets delivers a lot of energy down range.

Thanks fellas,