.222 Remington build advice

S

Spike928

Hi, new to the forums and am looking for advice, my plan/hope is to build a .222 Remington benchrest setup, and am hoping that some of you all would have some advice on it, ie, chamber dimension, barrel length, if you got something that works let me know. I know that there are alleged more accurate caliber's, PPC. etc, etc, but have a real nostalgic hankering to do .222, thanks to any and all responders.

Build it as a regular benchrest rifle and hope it shoots well enough to win. I don't believe there's any "build" advice that would have any effect on the outcome.

When I started shooting NBRSA matches they hadn't invented PPC's yet. I truly believe that if you were to build a deuce using today's actions, barrels, triggers etc then use current brass, powder and bullets
You would end up with a rifle that would be competitive. I'm not saying it would consistently beat a ppc but I don't think you would be any way handicaped. You'll will often hear someone speak of wind drift etc but most of these fellows have never had a truly good 222. Ask Walt Berger Stan Bucthul or George Kelbly.

Don't be concerned with people being negative about 222's. They can be great little rifles if you put all the goodies on a good action - that can be a trued Remington. I have a custom 222, a custom 6 PPC. a made up 6 BR and a made up 223. The made up ones are built on Remington actions. Their accuracy falls in the order above. The best group for the 222 is 0.063" Go ahead get your feet wet, you'll love it. By the way it may cost you more then you think by the time you get it to shoot great. A lot of people say to buy a used 6 PPC, $1200 to $1500 put on a new barrel, $400 and pay the gunsmith about $375 to do the work. This sometimes works to be as cheap as building competitive 222. Good luck and have fun. Al.

Last edited by a moderator: