Small Rifle Match Primer question

B

bluegrassman

I just started shooting a custom 6mm ppc bench gun.
I am having a hard time finding the Federal match 205M primers in stock anywhere. I did buy some CCI small rifle match primers that are more expensive than the Federals. Has anyone compared the accuracy of the CCI match primers against the Federal match primers? I am getting good groups with the CCI primers, but wonder if the federals are more accurate.
It looks like 90% to 95% of you guys are using the federals.

Thanks, Mike

I was told by a Guy. That has a lot of trophies in his living room. It don't matter. Just try to use the same primers, all the time. Everything the same.
Bullets, brass, powder, primers, wind flags, etc. Try to use the same, every time you shoot.
And go to matches. Real matches. Any matches. Score, Group, Varmint...... It's the only way to learn.
And that way, you will see problems, faster. And it is all second nature.
I was shooting 2 guns. Not a good thing. Bad ju ju. :eek:
Oh, don't mix the powder in the barrel. Even though, we clean every 10-15 rounds.
Think I read this in a book, also.
Maybe some old guy told me.

Primers

100-200 yard Benchrest has become so specialized that it seems EVERYTHING becomes a major component in solving the Accuracy Equation.

Primers are part of the tuning window, just like neck tension, seating depth, and the powder charge. I suspect that any quality primer will give good results if the shooter arrives at his competitive tune with that primer, and sticks with it.

There is no doubt that the Federal 205 has become the industry standard whan it comes to 100-200 yard Benchrest. This all happened years ago, and we all stick with them because they do get the job done.