Newby questions

82boy

Patrick Kennedy
Yes, I am a newbie to the sport, and I am seeking knowledge. I am familiar with the basics of how matches are conducted, and I have shot in a couple of matches.

My question is what you think a newbie to the sport should know.

What would you like to have known when you stated out that took you time to find out?

What did you find out the hard way about equipment?

At the time I have infearior equipment, but as I can, I plan on upgrading.
I am using a caldwell rock br rest, when I can I will get a better rest. I just upgraded my rear bag from a protekor #13 bag to a bumble bee bag.

I will soon be purchasing some wind flags, I am looking at Graham flags. Next to learn what to do with them.

Benchrest Schools

are probably the fastest and most cost efficient way to get started. I don't don't know where you are located or do I have any hard facts about when and where but I'm sure someone will chime in here shortly

Keep the Prot. #13

Newby, The #13 bag is the preferred bag of alot of top shooters. Not too stiff, and has good rifle support.
Like Wayne says, schools are the best teacher, but at least get to a Registered Match and see, and talk to some better shooters (like Wayne)
Good luck, ...Dave

First of all, Wayne has given you excellent advice.

The one thing I noticed form your post is that you are brand conscious. That is going to cost you both money and learning time.

For example: Are Graham flags better than any other? I doubt it. Are they any worse? I doubt it. Do they have quirks that are different from some other brand? probably. Do the various brands have their strengths and weaknesses? Almost certainly.

Moral: learning to read wind flags really means learning to read YOUR windflags.