New to RF Benchrest

linekin

Hi All,
I am new to RF benchrest & have a few questions. I'll start with ammo. I know that it is key. What I'm wondering is that when you guys are testing or tuning for your best ammo how far out is the bad ammo? And I'm assuming the "bad ammo" is stringing horizontally?
The reason I ask is that I've had both horizontal & vertical issues on my last few cards & my X count has dropped. That is how I measure good ammo.
I know that my rifle is not in perfect tune as I've had a limited supply of ammo. Also I am new to wind flags & am sure it is part of my problem. But why is it when they "tell" me something & I hold off for it my bullet goes where I've held!!??
I do clean after each card with lead remover for the 1st 10in or so & a nylon brush. I've been consistent with this & am thinking I'm at the same starting point on each card. There was one evening however that I didn't have time between cards & for what its worth I didn't see much difference.
Any thoughts are appreciated.
Keith

I think most shooters will agree that anything more than a .25' group will qualify as "bad", most want groups in the .1's. Horizontal stringing is usually the wind. When your flags tell you something and you hold off only to hit where you're aiming, I find it normally is a velocity change I missed. Wind direction is important but velocity is just as important. You also need to factor in that sometimes the flags just flat out lie to you. Some guns like dirty, they will take a half a box of ammo to settle down after cleaning. How long they can go before accuracy falls off is individual to each rifle. Trial and error testing can tell you how far you can go with your rifle. That said, clean is repeatable.