Cleaning rod question

O

osofaraway

I've been out of Benchrest for 15 or more years and my old Dewy rods need replacing, what rods seem to be used the most now? Thanks, David Boswell

Don't know which are being used the most, but I have been using the Bore tech cleaning rods for many years now and am very satisfied with them. Also have Dewey's and since they redesigned their handles (bearing race) they too are also very good. A lot of good choices out there.

Another alternative are the Pro Shot polished stainless rods. A friend was not happy about the amount of flex that he was getting, starting a new brush, with a coated rod, a Dewey I believe. He switched his brushing rod to a Pro Shot and is quite satisfied. I have not seen them, but a friend who is a very experienced Benchrest shooter, and who does his own barreling, uses Dewey polished stainless rods. I have not seen one. Perhaps someone will give us a report.

+1 Dewey & boretech....both are good. Take whichever you get the best price on. The Boretech doesn't have the female adapter. The Dewey does. Matter of personal preference.

I bought Bore Techs when they came on the market. In less than 6 months the coating was stripping off. I called them and was told in essence "too bad". They would not stand behind their product. I don't know if things has changed since then, but that is the most despicable way of doing business I've ever heard of, especially in this shooting community.

I've had Dewey's for over 15 years with no problems at all, and used a lot! I have Pro Shot stainless and love them.

Check out Denny Phillips, ivyrods.com.. He'll make length and caliber to your choice. He just posted this morning on Saubier.com .Hope this helps.
Mack

I bought Bore Techs when they came on the market. In less than 6 months the coating was stripping off.