6.5-284 chamber neck diammeter-need advice

rvander1

Hi, I'm new to 1000yd benchrest shooting (competed in one match at Williamsport last year with a gun loaned to me, and got hooked).
I have a 1000 yd gun (6.5-284 Nesika Bay action, Tooley stock, Night force 12-42 BR scope). I bought the gun assembled but never fired-- and it was not really put together properly (no piller bedding and a few other problems).
The problems with the gun are being fixed by Mark King who has built a number of winning guns at Williamsport (two hours south of where I live).
The gun came with a "standard chamber" Pac-Nor barrel (?maybe min SAMMI spec?). I'm getting the Pac-Nor re-chambered and I'm getting a second barrel (McMillan) chambered at the same time and I want them both to be the same. Mark likes thin necks- he feels it's easier to control neck tension with thinner necks, but my 100-200 BR friend says guys shooting 6ppc's are going with thicker necks now- even no-turn necks since the Lapua brass is so good. I thought I might be able to get away with no neck turning- but I don't know--
My question is: what chamber neck diameters are other people using in this caliber for 1000yds?
Thanks in advance for any help:)

Hi, I'm new to 1000yd benchrest shooting (competed in one match at Williamsport last year with a gun loaned to me, and got hooked).
I have a 1000 yd gun (6.5-284 Nesika Bay action, Tooley stock, Night force 12-42 BR scope). I bought the gun assembled but never fired-- and it was not really put together properly (no piller bedding and a few other problems).
The problems with the gun are being fixed by Mark King who has built a number of winning guns at Williamsport (two hours south of where I live).