Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Crossfires

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth Texas
    Posts
    1,621

    Crossfires

    Last weekend at a match I was the subject of a crossfire. This occurred before I had fired any shots on my record tgt. In my attempts to notify anyone I used up too much time and ended up being DQ'd for firing after the command Cease Fire. I am ignorant of what the subject of a crossfire is supposed to do. I've gone through the rules on the NBRSA web site and all references are to the offender. My first thought upon seeing the shot was that if I fired without notifying someone that I owned that shot. From what I glean from the rules the offender is supposed to report their crossfire after firing is completed. I've read all the paragraphs in rule 4.23 and don't find anything that applies to my situation. So, it appears that what I'm supposed to do in this situation is just fire my record shots and trust that the offender will report their transgression and/or the target crew will sort this out by looking at moving backers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Kentucky-Home of the Kentucky Wildcats
    Posts
    2,401
    You have to get the match directors attention asap, as well as the people on either side of you, in particular. If it was accidental, it most likely came from one of them. If it was intentional, it could've come from just about anywhere. Unfortunately, it happens from time to time but is mostly accidental and the offender generally owns up to it. Clearly, the problem comes when nobody owns up to it, for any reason. It's an unfortunate part of an imperfect system. IOW, it is what it is. But next time you'll know not to sit on your hands and wait for anything to be done/noticed. Be heard! The worst part is that it's hard not to know that you have cross fired on someone else. That makes not owning up to it, cheating. A mistake is one thing and it happens, but not owning up to it should not be part of the game. Just my 2 cents worth on the subject.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    upstate, N.Y.
    Posts
    3,006
    Mike is correct, pretty much.
    The only thing I would add is unless the crossfire prints exactly where you are grouping, shoot your group under the time, and immediately after the match go to director or refs and call out the crossfire so you don’t get punished.
    They will pull your target and backer and should ID the guilty party. Usually,as Mike said if you make a call, it is most often the guy either side of you .
    It is tough to get back on pace when you’re the recipient.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth Texas
    Posts
    1,621
    Quote Originally Posted by tim View Post
    Mike is correct, pretty much.
    The only thing I would add is unless the crossfire prints exactly where you are grouping, shoot your group under the time, and immediately after the match go to director or refs and call out the crossfire so you don’t get punished.
    They will pull your target and backer and should ID the guilty party. Usually,as Mike said if you make a call, it is most often the guy either side of you .
    It is tough to get back on pace when you’re the recipient.
    What was really interesting is what happened later. After I was DQ'd I just took my gun into the reloading area and cleaned it and started getting my gear together to leave as there was only one more target to shoot and I couldn't. After the last targets were posted I went over to the wall to pick up my targets for the day and noticed that my last target was on top. I guess the target crew put it in the target frame as it was in the stack. I noticed there were four bullet holes in the record bull. I couldn't have shot it because my gun was still in the cleaning cradle. Don't know if that's adding insult to injury or what.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    upstate, N.Y.
    Posts
    3,006
    Pretty tough to deal with Jerry. Crossfires are a bitch whether you get’em or give ‘em.
    Last week at the IBS nationals one shooter who had clear benches both sides of him, after a couple days accidentally set up on wrong bench…shot the proper target. As per rule…..crrossfire. Never saw that one , ever.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Poetry, Tex.
    Posts
    7,011
    Man, I remember a Super Shoot several years ago that I shot a screamer. I leaned over and asked Jim Carmichel if he saw it. He said yeah, but it is on Jim's target and not mine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •