Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Free Recoil question for Tonykharper

Free Recoil question for Tonykharper

Im trying to shoot free recoil with me at the side of the rifle. Should I be behind the rifle? What benefits are gained shooting from behind vs beside rifle? Sorry if this is a dumb question.
    Last edited by oldman; 12-15-2020 at 12:44 PM. Reason: more information

Cool

From one oldman to another oldman, I started shooting free recoil about five or six years ago.
    Iím a right hander and sit to the left/next to my rifle.
    Iím not saying that some shooters, shoot from behind, Itís just that I have never seen it done that way.
    When I shoot I keep my right hand away from the gun and pinch the trigger with my left forefinger and thumb behind the trigger guard.

Bob

Apart from technique it's also liaised to body size.
    Me, being a small person, cannot shoot other than the rifle side. I don't touch anything expect the trigger. Release and follow-through are done by pulling the arm back, not by the finger.
    Last edited by PedroS; 12-16-2020 at 07:20 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by oldman View Post
    Im trying to shoot free recoil with me at the side of the rifle. Should I be behind the rifle? What benefits are gained shooting from behind vs beside rifle? Sorry if this is a dumb question.
    There are no dumb questions, just dumb answers. Perhaps, I'm about to give one now.

People are different and what makes them comfortable is different. I believe you have to be stable and comfortable in your position.

Most benches are built with a cut out and that kinda means you will be beside the rifle.

If you sat behind the rifle you would be pretty far back. If you have long arms and a long neck you may be comfortable that way?

I don't think it really matters as long as you are stable and comfortable.

Now here is where I get in trouble.

Is shooting free recoil really shooting? It is legal, but is it really shooting?