Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: A question about "Applied Ballistics" software

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    St Louis Bench Rest Club
    Posts
    26

    A question about "Applied Ballistics" software

    Regarding "Applied Ballistics" software. Could anyone confirm that if I have an ammo built for a velocity of 2725 (168 grain Sierra MK) and I adjust my load to 2675 fps the only way I can go that route is to create an entirely new ammo profile. Example everything the same but one profile is committed to 2725, and another to 2675 fps. To repeat the question; I need to build an entirely separate file and then when I calculate ballistics I would choose either the 2725 or the 2675 fps. Bottom line, there is no way to change velocity on an existing created ammo file. Instead I need to build the same same except for velocity, then choose 2725 or 2675 fps before I calculate the trajectory. I'm coming off of using "Shooter" where variables could be adjusted within the file chosen. I didn't have to build a separate file in shooter, I just changed the variable within the file and then calculated the ballistics chart. Thanks, Bill.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Albany, OR
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Wm Cook View Post
    Regarding "Applied Ballistics" software. Could anyone confirm that if I have an ammo built for a velocity of 2725 (168 grain Sierra MK) and I adjust my load to 2675 fps the only way I can go that route is to create an entirely new ammo profile. Example everything the same but one profile is committed to 2725, and another to 2675 fps. To repeat the question; I need to build an entirely separate file and then when I calculate ballistics I would choose either the 2725 or the 2675 fps. Bottom line, there is no way to change velocity on an existing created ammo file. Instead I need to build the same same except for velocity, then choose 2725 or 2675 fps before I calculate the trajectory. I'm coming off of using "Shooter" where variables could be adjusted within the file chosen. I didn't have to build a separate file in shooter, I just changed the variable within the file and then calculated the ballistics chart. Thanks, Bill.
    First, AB has at least three different ballistics programs. I'm going to make the assumption you're using the "middle" one (not the one that comes with one of the books, and not the $200 Analytics package). If so, just go to where you would select your existing load, press and hold, and you should see the option to "duplicate". Select that, and you've now got a copy where you can make changes while having everything else brought over from the first load.

    Hope that helps!
    GsT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Wm Cook View Post
    Regarding "Applied Ballistics" software. Could anyone confirm that if I have an ammo built for a velocity of 2725 (168 grain Sierra MK) and I adjust my load to 2675 fps the only way I can go that route is to create an entirely new ammo profile. Example everything the same but one profile is committed to 2725, and another to 2675 fps. To repeat the question; I need to build an entirely separate file and then when I calculate ballistics I would choose either the 2725 or the 2675 fps. Bottom line, there is no way to change velocity on an existing created ammo file. Instead I need to build the same same except for velocity, then choose 2725 or 2675 fps before I calculate the trajectory. I'm coming off of using "Shooter" where variables could be adjusted within the file chosen. I didn't have to build a separate file in shooter, I just changed the variable within the file and then calculated the ballistics chart. Thanks, Bill.
    On my AB program on my iPhone, I left swipe the load on the ammunition list, and two choices come up, MORE, and DELETE. touch MORE, then select EDIT, and change the data to your new velocity info.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Albany, OR
    Posts
    136

    Interesting...

    Quote Originally Posted by powderbrake View Post
    On my AB program on my iPhone, I left swipe the load on the ammunition list, and two choices come up, MORE, and DELETE. touch MORE, then select EDIT, and change the data to your new velocity info.
    I was not aware that it was different on the iPhone. Even more interesting that they'd use differing terminology ("More" v. "Duplicate") between iPhone and Android.

    GsT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    St Louis Bench Rest Club
    Posts
    26
    Thanks very much to all. Turned out the program I have required a left swipe and it allowed me to adjust (or duplicate) for ammo data. I can adjust velocity, zero, etc. THANKS VERY MUCH. First impression is that it's a good program. Bill.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by GeneT View Post
    I was not aware that it was different on the iPhone. Even more interesting that they'd use differing terminology ("More" v. "Duplicate") between iPhone and Android.

    GsT
    Actually, after hitting MORE, you get 3 choices, EDIT, DUPLICATE, DUPLICATE TO FIREARM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Albany, OR
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by powderbrake View Post
    Actually, after hitting MORE, you get 3 choices, EDIT, DUPLICATE, DUPLICATE TO FIREARM.
    Ahhh! Thanks for the clarification! Those are the options I see ( on Android ) with a long press.

    GsT

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •