Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: New Chronograph

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    25

    New Chronograph

    I was at the range on Tuesday and looked about four benches down and there was a guy at that bench with a rifle that looked like it had a bayonet on the end of the barrel.
    I walked down to see what it was,and it turned out to be a chronograph. This thing attached to the end of the barrel with a felcro strap and a thumb screw to tighten up the strap.
    It had one plug in wire and the info read out unit. It was made by MagnetoSpeed company.
    Was wandering if anyone has seen this unit and would like to get any feedback on the operation and thoughts about the unit.
    It sure was easy to set-up and get operating compared to my old Crony.
    Tom

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Cripple Creek, CO
    Posts
    21
    There's some reviews/comments over on accurateshooter.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    NY State
    Posts
    100
    That is the magneto speed chrono
    It is so simple to set up, not affected by light, accurate as any other on the market ( I have used Oehler 35P, Chrony, and PVM 21) (from reviews I have read), has been extensively reviewed, and gives U all the info you need. You are seeking bullet speeds. Thus the effect on point of impact of the bullet by the "receiver bayonet" fixed to the barrel is not important for the data you seek.

    http://www.magnetospeed.com/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Youngsville, NC
    Posts
    958

    Chronographs

    I own 4 chronographs and had two friends loan me their chronographs. We tested all 6 chronographs set up in a row less than 10 foot spread in distance from each other. They should be reading relative the same speed from the same shots. Shot a known 6BRX load with an established 6-9 fps extreme spread 3050-3041fps .

    There was an extreme spread of 232 fps between the units. Ironicly the Ohler 35P(most expensive) and the Chrony (lest expensive) were within 35 fps of each other.

    Had 3 CED machines set up and extreme spreads were 232 fps difference with one being 50 fps diffiierent from the slower CED. I used both white light and infrared screens with no difference in the readings just less errors when used under the trees.

    The two Magneto speeds could not be used on simaltanous shots as only one could be on the barrel at a time. Successive loads fired over the Magneto Speeds indicated with in 25 fps of each other.

    I am not sure how accurate chronographs really are the question is, are they consistant?

    Just thought I would pass this along.

    Nat Lambeth

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    SE Pa
    Posts
    25
    Thanks Nat,good info,I think I will stick with my old Chrony for now. The ease of set-up is what interested me the most,and was looking for the accuracy feedback also. I did see that there may also be some concern about that thing hanging out on the end of the barrel.
    Tom

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    washington.........STATE that is.
    Posts
    8,379
    Thanks for this Nat!

    I have done similar testing but using three chronies, they agreed well. I have no idea whether or not they were absolutely accurate but they agreed within 10fps as far as relative speed.

    Three in a row on a board

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3 chronos.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	45.5 KB 
ID:	13482

    Generally the readouts were in descending order. I was surprised at how quickly the bullets were losing velocity.

    al
    Last edited by alinwa; 02-23-2013 at 01:37 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    aurora, co
    Posts
    3,475
    i use a three screen 35p.....it is easy to see decrease in speed between the second and third screen when the first screen is set at 10 or 12 feet and 2 and 3 are 2 and 4 feet furter out.
    with three or four chrono's in a row i would expect to see lower speeds on each sucseeding chrono....

    mike in co

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    347
    Quote Originally Posted by mike in co View Post
    i use a three screen 35p.....it is easy to see decrease in speed between the second and third screen when the first screen is set at 10 or 12 feet and 2 and 3 are 2 and 4 feet furter out.
    How so?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    aurora, co
    Posts
    3,475
    Quote Originally Posted by aka Hunter View Post
    How so?
    it prints both....speed from screen 1to 2, and from 2 to 3...

    mike in co.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    22
    I have a 35p and if the speed is 2fps different from screen 1 to screen 2 than between screen2 to 3 it comes up as an error. Rogina

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    aurora, co
    Posts
    3,475
    YOU CAN ADJUST THE ACCEPTABLE DIFFERENCE.....
    mike in co

    Quote Originally Posted by rogina View Post
    I have a 35p and if the speed is 2fps different from screen 1 to screen 2 than between screen2 to 3 it comes up as an error. Rogina

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •