Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Brackney System

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    White Haven, PA
    Posts
    244

    Brackney System

    Has anyone had any experience with the Bob Brackney, Frozen Scope, External Adjustment system. If so, Pros/Cons, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    hopefully at a match somewhere in the southwest region
    Posts
    1,283
    Quote Originally Posted by shinny View Post
    Has anyone had any experience with the Bob Brackney, Frozen Scope, External Adjustment system. If so, Pros/Cons, etc.
    I've used both the 1" and 30 mm versions and I think they are great systems. Only disadvantage I found was it's kind of a p.i.t.a. to go from 100 to 200 and to re-zero after finding a load.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth Texas
    Posts
    815
    Quote Originally Posted by goodgrouper View Post
    I've used both the 1" and 30 mm versions and I think they are great systems. Only disadvantage I found was it's kind of a p.i.t.a. to go from 100 to 200 and to re-zero after finding a load.
    I agree. I finally placed some marks on the knobs to go between 100 and 200.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    5
    I have that mount on a Leupold 40X. I like it. No problem going to 200. Just aim and crank the crosshair up plus or minus about an inch and a half and shoot. It's usually in the ballpark.

    R.B. Carl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Wilsall, MT
    Posts
    6
    I have 3 of Brackneys mounts. Two are on Stiller group guns and one is on a Kodiak HBR. Since the mounts have micrometer knobs they are easy as pie to move. I always center my groups in group shooting so I might move them every match Come up from 100 to 200 is one and a half min. About 3 min. more to 300 from 200 on the HBR. Each mark or thousandth is worth about 3/4 min. This would vary depending to your ring spacing.

    Jack

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    871
    Quote Originally Posted by shinny View Post
    Has anyone had any experience with the Bob Brackney, Frozen Scope, External Adjustment system. If so, Pros/Cons, etc.
    Have two. Love them. No clicks. Once you figure out using the known separations of the rings on the 100 and 200 yard targets and your load drops its silly easy to go from one yardage to another. Greg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    871
    Quote Originally Posted by goodgrouper View Post
    I've used both the 1" and 30 mm versions and I think they are great systems. Only disadvantage I found was it's kind of a p.i.t.a. to go from 100 to 200 and to re-zero after finding a load.
    How long has Bob offered a 1" setup? Last I knew he did 30 mm only??

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    hopefully at a match somewhere in the southwest region
    Posts
    1,283
    Quote Originally Posted by R.B. Carl View Post
    I have that mount on a Leupold 40X. I like it. No problem going to 200. Just aim and crank the crosshair up plus or minus about an inch and a half and shoot. It's usually in the ballpark.

    R.B. Carl
    It's not the actual movement that's a PITA, it's the scramble to find a damn .050" allen wrench when the MD says to put the bolt in the rifle and the clock starts ticking!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    hopefully at a match somewhere in the southwest region
    Posts
    1,283
    Quote Originally Posted by glp View Post
    How long has Bob offered a 1" setup? Last I knew he did 30 mm only??
    It was a while back for sure. I think he only offers 30 MM now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,139
    Quote Originally Posted by goodgrouper View Post
    It's not the actual movement that's a PITA, it's the scramble to find a damn .050" allen wrench when the MD says to put the bolt in the rifle and the clock starts ticking!!


    Sorry for being a DA but why do you need an .050 allen wrench? I've used my Brackney system for years with complete satisfaction and never needed an .050 allen wrench.

    Gene Beggs

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    871
    Quote Originally Posted by Gene Beggs View Post
    Sorry for being a DA but why do you need an .050 allen wrench? I've used my Brackney system for years with complete satisfaction and never needed an .050 allen wrench.

    Gene Beggs
    Gene, probably to tighten the tension/lock screw in the rear mount. It can worl loose and out over time with the spring ejecting the plunger that holds the scope against the two adjusting micrometers. Happened to me this year at the IBS 200/300 score national. My fault for not being more watchful. Ruined my shooting day! Greg
    Last edited by glp; 11-01-2012 at 12:34 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    hopefully at a match somewhere in the southwest region
    Posts
    1,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Gene Beggs View Post
    Sorry for being a DA but why do you need an .050 allen wrench? I've used my Brackney system for years with complete satisfaction and never needed an .050 allen wrench.

    Gene Beggs
    Gene, does your's not have set screws on the mics?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Hancock, Maine & Palm COast, Fl
    Posts
    4,451
    I have one and like it. I have had the same issue as Greg with the set screw in the tensioning holder being missing. I also found that the set screws on the thimbles need to be watched for tight; had that problem the last time I shot with it. It's hard to beat the Brackney System,In my opinion. Adjusting it IS stupid easy, just dial to the hole the last shot made from where you were holding is all there is to it.

    I don't know if the locking down on 6PPC rifles is less an issue, which I suspect is the case but those on the 30's seem to require a bit more attention.

    I would like to get my hands on a couple of the 1" setups for my HBR rifles. I have two frozen Burris HBR II's.
    Last edited by Pete Wass; 11-01-2012 at 01:47 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,139
    Quote Originally Posted by goodgrouper View Post
    Gene, does your's not have set screws on the mics?

    Yes it does. I remember checking them once but haven't checked them lately. I'll take a look and be sure everything is secure. I'll let you know.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    871
    Quote Originally Posted by Gene Beggs View Post
    Yes it does. I remember checking them once but haven't checked them lately. I'll take a look and be sure everything is secure. I'll let you know.
    You can use the screws to lock down the adjustments or to put a little tension on them so you can move them to adjust poi but with enough friction so the barrels don't move under recoil. The big issue is when they are adjusted with a bit of friction and you don't check them and the one on the tension plunger barrel backs full out and the whole works goes shooting across the range floor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •