Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tough Kimber mainspring

Tough Kimber mainspring

So I'm over at a friend's house, she just bought a Kimber micro nine and the mainspring is brutal. Does anyone know is there a good softer or smoother mainspring option for the micro nine?

Quote Originally Posted by alinwa View Post
    So I'm over at a friend's house, she just bought a Kimber micro nine and the mainspring is brutal. Does anyone know is there a good softer or smoother mainspring option for the micro nine?
    you reduce the main spring and the recoil is a bitch.....

I assume you mean the recoil spring

I've gone as light as 11# in a standard .45 (16-18# is typical) and while it changes the nature of the recoil, I don't think it really makes it worse. I have no experience particular to the micro-nine, but my experience with similar size guns is that they need that stout spring to operate with the shorter stroke.

In 1911 parlance the "mainspring" is the spring captured in the rear of the frame which drives the hammer. If that's what you meant, disregard my comment.

GsT

Quote Originally Posted by GeneT View Post
    I have no experience particular to the micro-nine, but my experience with similar size guns is that they need that stout spring to operate with the shorter stroke.
    GsT
    That's one of the things about those 'micro' and super light weight pistols I dislike. The Kimbers are nice guns but particularly nasty in that regard.

For people with smaller hands and most females, I steer them to the S&W 442 for a defensive and/or concealed carry gun and have them shoot one of mine.

FWIW.....-Al

Quote Originally Posted by Al Nyhus View Post
    That's one of the things about those 'micro' and super light weight pistols I dislike. The Kimbers are nice guns but particularly nasty in that regard.

For people with smaller hands and most females, I steer them to the S&W 442 for a defensive and/or concealed carry gun and have them shoot one of mine.