What comes first

paulie

Although I’ve been reloading for quite a few years, I am absolutely a clean slate when it comes to reloading for the 6 PPC and this extreme accuracy stuff.
What comes first?, the chicken or the egg?
To be honest – at this point I don’t know which is the chicken or which is the egg.
Been reading here as much as I could find that I think would apply, but it’s starting to making me dizzy.

The components I’m using are N133 powder, 205M primers and Barts 68gr Ultra’s.
The gun seems to shoot well anywhere between 28.8gr and 29.1gr, although I’ve not gone higher.

So… what comes first in when you’ve got yourself a new rifle, and you want to determine what the best load for that particular rifle is?
Do you fiddle with the charge weight first, or the bullet seating depth?, or do I start elsewhere?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

paul

Paul ...

I actually start with neck clearance, then powder charge, and finally fine tune with seating depth and neck tension. I'm sure there are many ways to do it but that's how I progress.

For more on neck clearance and neck tension read this: http://www.benchrest.com/FAQ/2.4.shtml

If you've got a copy of the The Benchrest Shooting Primer put out by The Precision Shooting Magazine check out Lee Euber's excellent article "SCANNING" FOR THE RIGHT LOAD starting on page 197. :)

6ppc loading

Paulie: Another vote for "The Benchrest Shooting Primer", published by Precision Shooting magazine and available from Sinclair Int'l. 1-800-717-8211, page 181 of their new 2009B catalog, $19.95 and well worth it. 420 pages would be excellent reading over the Winter.