Tuner Guidance Please

Fred Bohl

Retired Engineer
Would those of you that believe your have been or are successful with tuners on center fire benchrest rifles please provide some guidance for me and others like me that have become confused by all the discussions to date. I am a retired engineer and have been shooting for over 55 years including some competitive benchrest shooting so I’m neither ignorant nor inexperienced.

I have lost track of what problem a tuner is supposed to be solving and how the tuner is used to solve the problem. To put the answers in terms I might be able to follow let us start with the assumption that I have a LV rig that I have found a combination of bullet, powder, load, and seating depth that will deliver (in normal conditions) groups of 0.15 to 0.25 MOA.

1. What characteristics of the groups would indicate that using a tuner could improve the performance of this rig?
2. If converted by installing a tuner, what improvements could be expected?
3. How would the tuner be used to achieve those improvements?

Understand that I’m not asking for a theoretical explanation of how the tuner works (that horse has been thoroughly beaten), but rather a user guide. More along the lines of: if you see X and Y; install a tuner then use it to do P, D, & Q; and success will be indicated by at least Z% reduction in X and Y.

For my fellow engineers that are familiar with the concept called design of experiment, I am asking for the existing users to:

1. Define the affected parameters.
2. Specify the procedure to be used.
3. Set the level of improvement that proves the hypothesis.

Fred, re. the tuner discussion, we ain't there yet. Everyone is still trying different approaches and theories.

Some background. In 2005 the NBRSA and IBS temporarily approved tuners. Then the IBS did not continue approval after the 2005 year until this year.