Top end nodes vs low to mid

Vern

Morethan1waytoskinacat
I have noticed the trend to find the very highest node that a gun will shoot good in.

Why is this?

If it shoots a .1 in a low node and a high node why shoot the high node?

Is the extra 100-300 fps really that much better at bucking the wind?

I guess I am just too new at this.

Someone educate me.

Node difference...

Vern...Keep in mind that brass will not last as long when shooting the "upper node windows". I'm no expert,but I don't believe in straining anything anymore than necessary to do the job. If low/mid nodes shoot equally well as the higher node,I'll choose the lower nodes. Checking ballistic tables show that the difference in time of flight between 3200fps & 3400fps = .013 of a second @ 200yds!!! Is .013 of a second really going to make that much of a difference plus the added wear & tear on brass?? Ain't worth it to me.
Good luck....good shooting....gpoldblue

Simply put the upper nodes are "sometimes" less sensitive to temperature changes. In other words they'll maintain that pinpoint accuracy without as much tuning needed.
Like most things its not carved in stone;)

I have been shooting stiff loads the last years. Started out like most around 28.5-29.2. Never found any loads that stayed in tune for very long. Something that worked in the mornin blew up compleatly in just a few hours.

Then I started tuning in the upper window, and found out that my loads stayed tuned much better. Not so that I was in total tune all of the time, but much more often than before. Sure, both brass and barrels gest beaten like hell, but I have accepted that.

What is the difference in group sizes when the load is tuned and out of tune due to change in temperature? There is a pattern(size) or this change from rifle to rifle?:confused:

Anything more that one bullethole of vertical, or unstable in the wind.