To expand or not

G

Gina1

OK guys got a question. I've been reloading my own ammo for a couple of years now. This last year I've only been using a necking die on my fire formed brass (.223) Because the decaping assy has the expander ball, I noticed I'm constantly reworking the brass, extruding it longer (if that is the right word) so that the case needs to be trimmed to length.

Today, to try it out, I used just a decaping assy without the expander ball. None of the decaped bass required trimming. I than loaded about 20 rounds with no seating problems. To check out the reloaded rounds, I chambered them, with no problems. Haven't tried firing them as it's raining today and the range is closed.

So My question... Am I asking for problems down the road by doing this. ??

Much thanks for your thoughts on this.

Gina

Not a benchrest shooter but I do this with my brass at times when I have a die that won`t adjust and seems to want to give me trouble with runout. I found I can get almost 0 runout by sizeing without the expander ball and seating a bullet. Boat tails go in the easiest but I haven`t had any crushed moths or shoulders using regular flat bases either. I know neck tension is probably too much for some but it hasn`t appeared to hurt in my limited experiance with doing it.

The neck sizer shouldn`t be contacting the body of the case, and the brass should not be growing from its use. Are you possibly dragging a rough or oversize expander through the neck and pulling them and the shoulder forward making it appear the case needs trimming? Some very limited trimming is to be expected over time, but I toss my brass due to mouth splits or loose primer pockets long before the 3rd or 4th trimming is needed.

If you are using standard dies they tend to oversize the neck then use the expander ball to pull the neck up to a size where you can more easily seat a bullet.