Switching bullet lot# Berg 6.5 130vld

Larry M

When I started shooting this rifle I began with 1500 of Berger's 6.5 130gr vld match grade bullets lot# 1407. Well I'm almost out and mentioned it at a match and a fellow shooter said he had 600 that he wouldn't be using all same lot#. I had him bring em to the next match. Well these were some of the newer TARGET VLD bullets lot# 1752. They .040 longer in the bearing surface. I know Berger made some changes for Target vs Hunting bullet. I believe making the jackets thicker for the target bullets to prevent blow-ups. I hadn't heard about any other changes like length. The ogive and boat tail profiles appear the same. Does any one know more about any changes? I am also interested in what changes I might experience in the load. I know that I will have to readjust my seater ALOT and now the base of the bullet will extend into the shoulder of the case. How will this affect pressure, is the load likely to want more or less powder, is it likely to want more or less jam? I am trying to get a head start on the testing to save some barrel life and components. I would never had expected to experience this large of a dimensional change.
Larry

Switching Berger Lots

I went through this with two different lots of the 7mm 180gr Target VLDs. The short answer in my gun was that I used the same load and seating depth but didn't mix the lots of bullets. Maybe just a luck and circumstance, but I had the same concerns you have and there was no problem. The lot to lot variation I have found in successive lots of the same part number Bergers has been in line with what you have observed. I don't think it has anything to do with the change from thin to thick jackets. Mine have all been Target bullets.