Switch bolt .223/.308 Rem 700

Wm Cook

Is it possible to have a switch bolt set up on a 700 BDL. I have a lot of time and effort on my 700 VS for .223 and I want to use the same platform (stock, bedded action, scope, trigger etc.) to shoot .308.

And I'm tired of buying rifles that stack up like cord wood in my gun safes.

In my simple mind I believe if a smith checks lug contact on the locking lugs on an already trued .223 bolt action he would be able to tell me if the .308 bolt I bought from PTG will A) work, B) will kind of work but accuracy could be effected or C) that, that particular bolt will not work with the way the lugs have been trued for the 223 bolt.

Surely someone has done this already......haven't they?

My background is that I was a live varmint shooter back in the 90's (thus the .223 bolt face), started shooting short range Benchrest in the mid 90's with the PPC's and I have a high degree of confidence in my ability to hand load and get the best out of any bolt action rifle I own. But I am not a gunsmith. Thanks, Bill. Stl Bench Rest Club.

I agree.

And no downside.

I have a big AL double/double guncase that holds 2 scopes, 7 barrels, 2 bolts and some adapter plates/mag blocks which allow it to hunt/shoot/compete in pretty much any venue in North America. It's got 6PPC and 22BR barrels capable of winning a short-range BR Match. A shortened .308 that's capable in the (essentially discontinued) HBR venue or VFS. A 6BR that's competitive to 600 and a 6X47L that's competitive to 1000 and some hunting barrels....

I say this only to validate your thought process........ really, the sky's the limit.

And if you're super plan-ahead-y then when you get sick of switching components you can re-use most of them elsewhere if you so desire....... As I said, no real downside.

Al, I guess

"shortened .308 that's capable in the (essentially discontinued) HBR venue or VFS. "