Reaming out SR primers to LR?

Leeroy

Machinest / Gunsmith
G'day all.

I've got about 150 used 6.5x47 Lapua cases with over sized primer pockets that i would like to put back into service. I've done a bit of reading on pocket swageing and have come to the conclusion that it's realy not a viable method.
But i then wondered of i couldn't ream them out to a large rifle pocket? I don't plan on using them back in my comp guns, but move them on to my hunting rig which isn't so accuracy cirtical, nor such high pressures.
Is it safe to ream them out? Does it leave enough meat in the 6.5x47L casehead?
And if so is there a reamer/tool for doing this? I am a machinist and have a lathe at home so i'm sure i could come up with a suitable method/tooling if nothing is avaliable..
Thoughts?

Cheere
Leeroy

Leeroy,
You could use a collet and single point bore them. Seems the simple solution to me, just to see how it will work.

James

A custom piloted cutter could be ordered... perfect pockets centered on the flash hole...

The pilot: a) would need to be so small as to be too fragile and b) wouldn't work well since flash holes very often are off center anyway. I'd think that single point boring to .001" or so under the desired diameter would work, followed by using an RCBS or Dillon primer pocket swager to bring diameter up to spec as well as work- smoothing the surface to allow easy seating. Or order a custom diameter reamer without pilot (depend on rigid lathe setup to guide the tool here), followed by swaging. I think swaging as a final step would work best to control dimension and finish. Interesting but tedious project...

G'day all.

I've got about 150 used 6.5x47 Lapua cases with over sized primer pockets that i would like to put back into service. I've done a bit of reading on pocket swageing and have come to the conclusion that it's realy not a viable method.