PPC nodes

kolar55

I'm fairly new to the 6ppc. I have read that the charge weight nodes are approximately 1.2gn, apart. Meaning that something between that would be "out of tune".? I recently read something that stated nodes in general were 3% apart. That would be .8 to .9 gn apart. Can anybody here shed some light on this?
Thanks Lonnie

Nodes

Many years ago I set about testing where the nodes for a barrel actually fell. It was done by firing a rifle with its barrel within the core of an electromagnet. It floated within the field and didn't touch anything. The vibration pattern cut through the lines of force inducing a voltage. I won't go into the nitty gritty but you can join the dots. The primary signal and the secondary flyback signal were displayed on an oscilloscope. Some of the things that altered where the nodes fell were the length of the barrel, profile and overall weight. The only way to know where they will occur is to load test. Can't see any other way around it.
Andy.

The late great rimfire gunsmith and shooter Bill Myers once set up some electronic indicators that would hold the extreme readings. One of the interesting things he found out was that the barrels primary vibration pattern was from 7:00 to 1:00, not 6:00 to 12:00 as we would imagine.

Consider too, a steel barrel is not unlike a steel musical instrument string. Its vibration in amount, frequency, and direction is dependent upon the items length, diameter and physical strength. This half number (click) of 0.3 grains comes from what has ben used for years, the Culver type measure. So, for while it might seem the barrel magically fits into this 0.3 g, 0.6g, etc relationship from node to node may not be linear at all, i.e., it may be logarithmic, or ????

Nodes