Newbie here with a couple of newbie questions.

M

montdoug

This is my first post here. Hi all.
To begin with I don't wish to fly under a false flag so I'd like to make it clear I do not shoot benchrest. Actually, living in Montana I'm not sure we even have a shoot in this state as much as I wish we did as I've always been profoundly interested in your sport (ever since the Triple Duce was king). The accuracy all starts here.
The reality is I eradicate varmints for several rancher friends and am a sub .22 caliber freak (.17's, .20's etc.) with a fascination for just how accurate a rifle can be made.
The reason I registered here is I'm currently having a rifle put together in a caliber I know little about and all my internet queries keep leading me to this site. The round is a 6X47 Lapua. I feel like the cretin I undoubtedly am bringing up the project because it's being build on an old 788 Remington rifle, kinda lowbrow huh :eek:? It makes about as much sense as putting a diamond snout ring on a pig I know but I am tired of looking at the thing as it was and needed a project to occupy my idle time while waiting for spring.
Greg Tannel from Kersey Colorado is going to single point the action, bush and sleeve the bolt etc. etc. and install a 1 in 12 Krieger chambered in 6X47 Lapua on it with a tight neck and what not (my target projectiles are from 65 grains to possibly 75 or 80 grains absolute max.).
Next.
I currently have a 40XBR that has been fully massaged in 6BR and was then re-barreled to .20 caliber Dasher (yes I know, a bit over bore but most effective for what I do with it).
My question is this. How much case capacity difference is there between the 6X47 and Dasher cases?
Also while I know the logical conclusion for the 6X47 is a faster twist and heavier bullets have any of you experimented with what I'm doing with the slower twist and light bullets?