Neck turning

J

JBO

Greetings Gents

I'm new to neck turning and need a little advice/help. I turned the necks on my once fired prepped Lapua 284 brass. I started out before turning at .310 and took off .0015 , just enough to clean them up. After loading 20 rounds of my normal load, which normally shoots pretty well, I headed to the range this morning. They were all over the place.

My question, do they need to be fire formed to my chamber after neck turning or do I need to start all over with seating depth and load development etc.?
Thanks Jim

By turning .0015 off the necks you have lost .003 grip on the bullet if you are using a fixed neck sizing die. Bushing neck dies let you select the exact grip desired. If you were seating the bullets long into the lands before neck turning, the lighter grip after turning can result in the bullet being pushed back into the case giving a shorter OAL. Also, some powders require a tighter grip to give best results.

By turning .0015 off the necks you have lost .003 grip on the bullet if you are using a fixed neck sizing die. Bushing neck dies let you select the exact grip desired. If you were seating the bullets long into the lands before neck turning, the lighter grip after turning can result in the bullet being pushed back into the case giving a shorter OAL. Also, some powders require a tighter grip to give best results.

I just wasn't thinking when I removed .0015 that I'm actually removing .003 . Yikes, no wonder! It's not the first mistake, I'll learn from it. Appreciate the help from you and alinwa. Hunted and shot rifles all my life, thought I'd be great at this with all the shooting I've done. It's really humbling watching how great you guy's shoot and I really have no clue..... yet! I definitely will keep trying to get better at this and the mistakes I make I'll try not making again... appreciate the help.