Made a Hardened Sizing Mandrel for my K&M Expandiron holder

DSM

Chuck
This is my first time I hardened and tempered anything and it all came out pretty darn nice and VERY easy to do. I needed a larger mandrel that was a few tenths bigger than what I had. I started with 5/16 oil hardening drill rod. Did all the machine work and polished the finished sized area. Took my propane torch with a "tornado" head on it using MAPP gas and heated the mandrel till it was no longer magnetic. Dipped it in a cup of oil to cool and then tempered at 400 degrees for an hour in a toaster oven. Out came out a cool looking hardened part. Now, have to try and see how well it works...

mandrel1.jpg

mandrel2.jpg

mandrel3.jpg

mandrel4.jpg

That should work, alot of effort though, I just use a standard hardened pin gauge kit in .001" increments to size necks to whatever preference.

That should work, alot of effort though, I just use a standard hardened pin gauge kit in .001" increments to size necks to whatever preference.

Really, not much effort. Took me just as long to clean up as it did making it. Quite easy. Not sure how I would attach a pin gauge to the K&M mandrel holder? I have $5 in a 36" oil hardening drill rod and can make a lot of mandrels with it...

How much did the size change from after machining to after heat treating?

Thanks.

I'm sure is changed some sort, but nothing measurable with my micrometer. Works perfect.

How did you check to see if it actually got hard?

Ran a file across the relief area.

Why did you draw it back at 400F?

To temper it. Probably should have turned the oven down a bit and left it in longer. It didn't temper evenly, but the sizing area is the color to look for.

Like I said, my first time and with the advice from the more experienced, I have an idea what I need to do and keep an eye on the next time.