Loading bench???

tiny68

Does anyone have experience with the Ozark Trails 5 ft folding utility table available from Wal-Mart? I need to add a loading table to my equipment. I probably have the heaviest loading box of anyone at the match. As a rookie, I decided to get the biggest one at Lowe's and through the whole shop in it. I am sure it has been good for a few laughs.

Anyway, not sure this is the quality I need for a reloading bench with a +80 lbs reloading box and my rifle/cleaning kit. Anyone try it. I have seen some very nice ones at matches, but the $300-400 custom ones are out of my price range.

Thanks for input, Tim

Nope....to weak.

Go to lowe's and buy the folding table legs (around 20.00), Buy a sheet of plywood (at least 3/8) cut two pieces out of it the size you want, glue and screw them together (screws from bottom) and put it together.

Cheap and easy. One thing I did, was measure the smallest trunk I have and made the table to fit in it. It's just big enought to load and clean on without much extra room but it does the job. A trick to making the table legs lay as flat as possible if they have to overlap, is to cut a couple of spacers (same thickness as legs laying flat for transport) 2"x4" at least. glue and screw them to the underside where one set of legs will mount. Put your legs on. Measure the set screwed straight to the table from the table to the end of legs. Then mark the legs (take glides of first) screwed to thet spacers and cut them off....slide glides back on and your in business. I made two tables (one for me and one for wife) and we can put them in the trunk of the Audi with everything else for a weekend shoot.

Hovis