Lathe set up

O

old#7

Hi all, Great forum.
I am new to machine work and have a question about setting a lathe up.
I bought a Precision Matthews 14x40 lathe recently with gunsmithing as the intended use. I also am building a new shop structure to house tooling.
My question is ... What would be the best way to mount the lathe to the floor. I am a tall guy and would like to raise it up about 4 to 6 inches to save my back. I haven't poured the concrete floor yet and was thinking of making an embed plate with welded rebar attached to it and place it in a thickened portion of the slab around 12" deeep. The embeded plate would also have (4) pieces of 1.5" threaded rod that would support a .75" base plate with adjusting nuts for leveling. This plate would be at each end of the lathe.
Will this work or is there a better method for ridgidly attaching the machine to the floor?

Last edited by a moderator:
Several people here have raised their lathe. I raised mine 5". I don't think they "bolt" it to the floor though, I didn't. It weighs enough to keep it from scooting around!

This is a thread on some riser blocks that Brian did to get his lathe up to a good working height

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=209005&page=2

thLeveling3.jpg

Ditto on the riser blocks.
I used 3" round stock on my Clausing.
My 14X40 Clausing is on a 4" slab. Most new 14" lathes are not much more 2200 lbs. Not that heavy. Invest your money in tooling, not concrete and steel.

Dave