Lathe Chuck

Zebra13

Gents,

I am looking at buying a new 6 jaw adjust thru chuck for my lathe. One thing that keeps popping up that I know nothing about is steel vs. semi-steel. The steel chucks are more expensive and advertise .0004 TIR repeatability. The semi-steel chucks are cheaper and offer .0005 TIR repeatability. The issue, as I understand it, is the semi-steel are more apt to wear quicker.

I am a hobbyist gun tinkerer, and my machines will never see production. I probably won't wear out a semi-steel chuck. But as I said, I don't know a whole lot about this, so I am deferring to those who do.

Any thoughts, experiences, advice, etc., would be appreciated.

Justin

the set tru function is great for production..that is the repeatable portion. for us hobby gunsmiths. the adjustable portion is what we look for( in my opinion). i went with an inexpensive knockoff in three jaw. so far so good.

just my 2 cents worth

mike in co

For the Hobbyist, go with the lower knockoff. Since the thing is adjustable, the repeatability is really a non issue.

I would be willing to bet that if a company makes both Steel and Cast body chucks, the internals are the same.........jackie

At home in your shop you probably can't measure the difference between .0004" and .0005" repeatability if you spend a month trying. Go with the less expensive one. You won't wear it out.

Fitch