Hello

B

booger

Non-symetrical tuning?

Hello Forum! Been here for about a year and I tell ya you guys are a tough crowd! I’d like to hear your thoughts on this idea. I’ve been working on a theory for tuning and would like to share it with the rimfire benchrest community. If this has been proposed before and shot down so be it. I had to ask. I’m a mechanical engineer and spend a lot of time thinking of how to make things work better.
As you know the current tuners are cylindrical and basically tune by adding weight and moving it in or out on the end of the muzzle. I wonder if tuners could be non-symmetrical and tune the muzzle in only the direction it needs dampening?

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello Forum! Been here for about a year and I tell ya you guys are a tough crowd! I’d like to hear your thoughts on this idea. I’ve been working on a theory for tuning and would like to share it with the rimfire benchrest community. If this has been proposed before and shot down so be it. I had to ask. I’m a mechanical engineer and spend a lot of time thinking of how to make things work better.
As you know the current tuners are cylindrical and basically tune by adding weight and moving it in or out on the end of the muzzle. I wonder if tuners could be non-symmetrical and tune the muzzle in only the direction it needs dampening?

You will have to ask Martin!:D

Booger...

If that is true, it would lend credence to the barrel indexing theory. It might be worth experimenting. The current theory only seems to address tuning the barrel as it reacts vertically to the gravity induced sag at rest. An eccentric tuner adjustable rotationally might be interesting. I'm sure the Tuna King has the answers.:rolleyes:

Jim

Allen Hall, Hall Manufacturing, Hall Actions, etc, has experimented with an accentric tuning weight. I'm no expert but I would think it would depend on barrel indexing and bore curve...which is annother can of worms.

Worth a try