harrell measure question

martin22250

Dustin Martin
I bought a used harrell measure, it don't have bearing in it, it feels like it is cutting a kernel or two on the bottom of the drop stroke, it looks in great shape, and feels super smooth, but at the bottom of the stroke it cuts a couple of kernels. At matches I've been to most shooters who use these seem to drop their charges smoother than mine is working. The click setting seem postive and smooth. It looks to me their is no way for it not to cut a few kernels on the drop stroke is this normal or should I contact harrells?

Dustin

I have been using a Harrell measure for about 15 years. It is one of the ones that has roller or needle bearings. with the powders that I use it for, I never have a grain cutting problem, but I actually want to feel a little crunch when I am closing the measuring cavity. If I don't, I dump the powder back in the top of the bottle. Over those years, I have mostly used 133, but I have also done some experimenting with finer extruded powders and some ball. When I load something like 4350, I throw light, trickle, and expect some grain cutting. I keep the Harrell in my range kit, and do my loading with slower powders at home with others that I own. What powder are you using?

I have been using a Harrell measure for about 15 years. It is one of the ones that has roller or needle bearings. with the powders that I use it for, I never have a grain cutting problem, but I actually want to feel a little crunch when I am closing the measuring cavity. If I don't, I dump the powder back in the top of the bottle. Over those years, I have mostly used 133, but I have also done some experimenting with finer extruded powders and some ball. When I load something like 4350, I throw light, trickle, and expect some grain cutting. I keep the Harrell in my range kit, and do my loading with slower powders at home with others that I own. What powder are you using?[/QUOT