General Impressions of Grizzly G4003G Lathe

S

sagreen83

I have been looking around for some time at buying a lathe for general metalworking, and when I saw the Grizzly G4003G, I thought "Hey, I would love to tinker around with crafting a gun barrel for my 30'06, I'll kill 2 birds with 1 stone!" This will be my 1st lathe and I am a complete newb, but I want to buy a good one to start with in this price range.

Anyway, I have seen quite a few posts about this lathe, but not a lot of recent ones. So, I have a few questions for those that have it.

1) I assume this is a great gunsmithing lathe, is it also a great general purpose metal working lathe?

2) What do you love about the lathe?

3) What do you dislike about the lathe?

4) If you were to think of the basic things that I need as far as tooling goes. What should I buy? I'm thinking Knurling, Thread Cutting (internal / external), parting etc.

5) I think I understand the milling and boring aspects that you would go through to build a barrel, but how do you go about rifling the barrel?

6) This question is for Shiraz Balolia if he gets a chance to see it. Shiraz, I live in North Bend washington. I called customer support and they told me that these lathes are on a 6 week back order. Are they truely on backorder, and does this seem like an accurate amount of time I am going to have to wait? I would have ordered and picked one up yesterday when I called if it were in stock.

Thanks in advance for your help. To be clear, I have never owned or used a metal lathe, but I am anxious to learn. I have a fully equiped 40'x60' Woodworking shop with every dream tool you could want (a lot of grizzly), but no real metal machining tools.

Scott...

First of all, forget anything about making a gun barrel from raw material with anything you'll find in a normal catalog. Be smart and buy your barrels from on of the many sources available. In fact, it's hard to buy a bad barrel if you stick with the names on this forum.