FL PPC die "matching"

mshelton

I'm new to this so please pardon what may seem like an elementary question.

How does one determine if their die matches the chamber on a particular gun?

I've heard from smiths and such to try a few Redding dies to find which one matches the chamber the best but I'm curious how does one check?

Your best bet in this scenario is to send several fired cases to the Harrell's. They will send you a die based on the dimensions of the fired cases. If you feel you need a bit more or less sizing after using it, they'll work with you for swapping to another size.

The Harrell's 'die program' has made life a lot easier for a lot of people. :cool:

http://harrellsprec.com/index.php?

Some time ago - - -

there was a discussion on here about this subject. It eventually lead to some folks having the insice of their dies Chrome plated. Are there folks who actually do that?

Another question is, how many people have a Die Reamer ground at the same time thay have their Chamber Reamed ground? Wouldn't it make sense to have a matching set of reamers of one's ownthat matched their chamber exactly, then have the die Chrome Plated inside?

Pete