Decision...Decision...30br turn or no turn neck

R

roe

hello guys this is my first post on here might not be in right place I'm having a 30br built my smith has a .336 reamer this will be a no turn I don't know about it would like some imput on it this will be my first build as I'm new to the game Thanks Rick

I think that the issue of a no turn neck 30 BR has already been discussed, and in that discussion it was pointed that this may not be a practical approach for this particular caliber. The reason is that when a 6BR case is expanded up to .30 caliber, what was originally the top (front?) of the shoulder, which is much thicker, becomes the bottom (back?) of the neck. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

Boyd, I think this is not right. If you keep the same head clearance and shoulder angle, when you expand a case, the old neck/shoulder junction moves into the shoulder. But I too say correct me if I'm wrong.

I have made 30BR cases using two methods, either by necking them up, or blowing them out. Either method does produce a neck that is quite a bit thicker down where the shoulder neck junction meet. This means in a no neck turn situation, you will have a considerable "do-nut" at that spot.

Since you are going for a no neck turn, and accuracy doesn't seem to be the predominate reason for your choice, why not try to find some Remington 7BR cases to use as the parrent. Lots less metal to move, and the results might be more satisfactory......jackie