Custom bullet jackets

Koppoti

Hi all, I am looking for a bullet jacket for an R&D effort. I need a jacket that is .228 inches diameter and 0.97 inches in length. Thickness of the jacket wall (if that is the correct term) of 0.018 inches. Any ideas who can make those or where I could go to ask? I know it is an unusual size. At this point I only need about 1,000 of them. Thanks!

Just a guess but you will likely need to start with a .224 jacket that is long enough to be trimmed and swage the diameter up. I just don't think you'll have much luck getting anyone to tool up for 1000 custom jackets. I may well be wrong. Good luck.

Thanks for the info. I'm looking at custom runs with larger machine shops that do that sort of thing, but I didn't know if there was someone that may do this kind of thing on a smaller scale. I'm new at this bullet thing, but a long time shooter. I didn't know there was so much one can do on one's own. I knew about lead bullets, but had no idea that people make their own jacketed rifle bullets. As I said this is for an R&D thing with a company that I'm working with. It's in its infancy, so do need 100,000 jackets at this point.

Thanks for the info. I'm looking at custom runs with larger machine shops that do that sort of thing, but I didn't know if there was someone that may do this kind of thing on a smaller scale. I'm new at this bullet thing, but a long time shooter. I didn't know there was so much one can do on one's own. I knew about lead bullets, but had no idea that people make their own jacketed rifle bullets. As I said this is for an R&D thing with a company that I'm working with. It's in its infancy, so do need 100,000 jackets at this point.