Benchrest. Tips, Techniques and How To's info please.

C

clivej

Hi all new here.
At last I have managed to get some good groups together with my CZ 22lr at 50y.
What I'm looking for now is any good info and web links to help me get better at those bench shots.
Techniques on how to hold the gun, when to take the shot....... you know what I mean.

Goodness!

You're likely to get more opinions than Chans in a Chinese phone book.

Work on "when to take the shot" first. It's a simple matter of watching wind flags, shooting sighters and making note of where the bullet hole appears.

In other words - "when I see this, I do that".

Where To Start?

First off, welcome to benchrest shooting! This forum is a good place to learn and ask questions. You'll get a variety of opinions on almost any subject. I have been shooting BR for about 18 months now and will offer some of the things I have learned. I am NOT an expert! Your results may differ!

1. Go to a nearby range and talk to other shooters. Most are glad to share information and the insights you'll get are invaluable. Experienced shooters have already made most of the mistakes and can help you avoid some of them.

2. You'll probably get frustrated with your CZ before long. They're good rifles, but not really what you need for true benchrest. Look at what is available, the rifles that are winning in the national matches and decide at what level you wish to compete. I am far from being able to shoot competitively at a national level but do very well at my local club with a Cooper TRP3. Take your time choosing another rifle. There are "custom" rifles out there that are for sale and they may for sale because the current owner can't get them to shoot at the level he wants. I bought a new rifle and am making my own mistakes rather than inheriting those of another shooter.