Barrel Tuners

shinny

Shinny
I'm sure this post will open a can of worms, but here goes.:confused:

I am relatively new to the game and have been making slow but sure progress and am starting to wonder about BARREL TUNERS.

Does the caliber that the tuner will be used on require different style/type tuners?

Any recommendations of a source for tried & true tuners for both calibers, if necessary?

Joel, if you read this would appreciate your input.:)

Shinny

We shoot both 6PPC and 30BR, and use the same tuners, (my own design), on both. It does not seem to make any difference.

In reality, just about anything that you can place on the barrel will change the harmonics, the key is that once set, it can not move or shift in any direction from shot to shot.

I have recently gone to a totally non metalic tuner, one made from Nylatron, the other from Thorplast. Seems to work just like the ones that I build from aluminum with the rubber dampenning feature.........jackie

Ok, my two cents worth:

I have used and observed 4 kind, three of which I have. I shot beside a fellow who was using a Shadetree last Saturday and I must say, I liked that one. I think it is too heavy or could be an ounce or so lighter but it is very nicely made with a nice numbered scale. It has way more length than is needed I think.

From my experience the tuners that hang over the muzzle are very sensative and perhaps too much so. I would prefer to have to move the tuner more for more predicatable and quantifiable results. The over the muzzle tuners work but I think the behind the muzzle units are better for several reasons.

All said and done, it is hard to beat the simplicity of the Beggs design. I would like to see a nice gradurated dial in Hours and half or quarter hours on it though. Some have found that finer adjustments are necessary.

Last edited:
I have a Beggs tuner on my 30BR. I have seen, not used, Lambert's tuner. Both very nice. I have no experience with any other tuners.