action welding

Hi, I am a welder not a gunsmith so please don't "rip me a new one" if this is a stupid question. Here goes; can a filler block/stiffener be welded in the magazine port in my model 722? If one was to use a tig welder do small tacks and jump around alot in between cooling periods would warpage be kept almost to nothing?
The old school guys like Roy Dunlap shortened actions w/ oxy acetelyne all the time. Prob had more warpage that they knew about but, hey?
What do guys think? Thanks.

Tim J.

I would make the filler block a "snug" fit and limit the tack welds to 6-8 on the perimeter.
The cantilevered beam (barrel) will tend to compress the insert and there should be no danger of it moving or falling out.

Jay, Idaho

As Butch mentioned, the entire front ring starting at the port openings. The bottom recoil lug on the action is the front of the mag box opening, something you do not want to heat.
The rear of the action where the bolt handle contacts the action on an angle is the extraction cam surface, another spot you do not want to heat.

I´ve also wondered about welding an action. Did weld a piece in the thump slot on a mauser once, Although I did have a mandrel in it it still warped, just a little though. But that was soft metal.
But my experience with welding hardenable metals is that even with tig welding the "joint" between the weld and metal gets to hard and prone to braking.
So.....those of you who have welded on a 700 action (4130 or 4140?), how do you go about it?

Hi, I am a welder not a gunsmith so please don't "rip me a new one" if this is a stupid question. Here goes; can a filler block/stiffener be welded in the magazine port in my model 722? If one was to use a tig welder do small tacks and jump around alot in between cooling periods would warpage be kept almost to nothing?
The old school guys like Roy Dunlap shortened actions w/ oxy acetelyne all the time. Prob had more warpage that they knew about but, hey?
What do guys think? Thanks.