.223 powders,

B

bob hardy

I have a Savage 12, 26" heavy brl. 1-9 twist. The bullets I have are Sierra MK 69 gr. and Hornady match 68gr. What powders are most recommended? I have some Varget, 4198, 4064, and 3031 on hand. Looking for recommendations. I'm new to this game. Best accuracy so far came with the Ultramax with the Hornady 68gr. bullet. Got a best of .149 @ 100, 3shot group. Friend of mine got a .123 with the same stuff in my gun. Wish I knew what powder and how much of Ultramax uses.
Bob

all of the above

All of the powders you mentioned have the potential to work well in a 223 with the 68/69 gr bullets. I have worked up several loads with Varget and 69 SMKs for different rifles. However, what works in mine (optimized load) will likely not work be the best load in yours. If you want to just duplicate some factory ammo, then sure you can take lots of tips from others. However, if you want the "best" load you have to figure out what your barrel tells you. It chooses the powder it wants.

Hope that makes sense, tiny

.223 Loads

tiny68 said it like it is, each barrel will chose what it likes, you have to do the finding. That said, there are several good powders for the .223, one of mine likes the Varget with GM Match primers and 55gr. V-Max's, it will also shoot the 52gr. Sierra BTHP with H335 and a CCI primer, but nearly everything else I have tried in that rifle will not shoot well, groups over 1/2" dia @ 100 yds. My Semi-auto likes the 4895 and 55 gr. Sierra's or just about any of the 55 gr. bullets, eats them all well, but it doesn't care for the Varget powder. I have not tried any of the VV powders, maybe someday, but what is working right now seems to fill the bill very well . . It is an expensive - trial and error - that will finally result in a very accurate rifle, have fun with it. . . .

Savage Model 12 LRPV & Tikka T-3 both in 223, for paper Vithv N133 and to hunt with H335,,,,,,,,,,

The wind is my friend,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

DD