PDA

View Full Version : Flat base bullets.

James M.
12-06-2014, 09:28 AM
When I started shooting short range Benchrest in 1997, almost everyone shot flat base bullets. There were exceptions like Gary Ocock, but for the most part the great shooters shot the flat base bullets since at 100/200 yards the BT did not improve the ballistic coefficient very much...if at all. Also, the shooters seemed to prefer slower twists in their barrels (14-15"). The switch to faster twist and BT bullets seemed to start about 7 or 8 years ago. Also, in this period of time several of the men who made great FB bullets have passed away. This includes Ed Watson, Skip Otto, Del Bishop, and Phil Sauer. Well enough of my ramblings. I will include a picture of several great FB bullets made on different length jackets. There are three bullets that are listed as .770. No, that is not a typo, but a bullet made by the late Del Bishop. He had some method of cutting jackets to custom lengths. George U., if you happen to be perusing this site, tell us what you think the ogive for these bullets are. We miss your input on bullet and die questions. James Mock

Uthink Uknow
12-06-2014, 09:56 AM
Who did I hear inherited or bought Del's "stuff"?

Jeff Whitt
12-06-2014, 12:59 PM
I think Larry Boers

rkittine
12-06-2014, 01:10 PM
As I am new to this game, I will ask the question that I thought that this thread would have offered. As I understand it, for the short range game, the use of lower weight projectiles is STILL the mainstay and the slower twist is so that the bullets do not fragment. Is this still true? Or is there a Non-Flat Base light weight projectile that has taken the lead? Have been told to have a 1:14 twist in 6mmBR if I want to shoot the short discipline and a 1:8 Twist if I want to shoot the heavy, say 107 Gr. Berger VLDs that require a fast turn to stabilize, if I want to shoot the long range game.

Thanks, Bob

Wilbur
12-07-2014, 02:26 AM