PDA

View Full Version : How does one go about replacing the barrel on a rifle with a glued in action



Fred Nickel
02-08-2011, 06:13 AM
I'm looking around at some used rifles. Lots of them have "glued in actions" Is it a big deal to replace a barrel on a rifle with a glued in action?

What are the steps to do it?

Thanks ... Fred

Wayne Shaw
02-08-2011, 07:05 AM
If it has a barrel on it, it is easy to verify headspace and bolt nose clearance. Once checked, measuring the old barrel and duplicating (or minor adjustments) can be done on a new barrel. It's done all the time.

Fred Nickel
02-08-2011, 07:14 AM
What I am looking for is the steps to remove action/barrel from the stock (I'm assuming that you need to remove the action/barrel to replace the barrel ... maybe not) and then how do I re-glue the action to the stock.

Sorry for not being clear

AndyTaber
02-08-2011, 07:27 AM
Here is a video made by Pbike, a longtime forum contributor. He does make it look easy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUV5Og5BtiA

Hope this helps. (And thanks to Paul for a fine video).

Andy

steve stanley
02-08-2011, 07:55 AM
You do not have to remove the action, just use a barrel vise and an action wrench and screw the barrel off.

Fred Nickel
02-08-2011, 10:18 AM
Thanks guys ....

And thanks Andy for the video ..... I even looked around the net a little and found that I can order the wrench for whatever action I need plus the barrel vise.

Just what I needed ..... Fred