PDA

View Full Version : Score Nationals



Johnnie from KY
09-05-2008, 05:35 PM
I am trying to make it to the score nationals next weekend. I hear there are people shooting 2 guns, lv and hv. I only have one gun. Can I shoot it in the lv and then add my weight for the hv? Like everyone else, I would like to shoot as much as possible. Thanks. Johnnie

Hal D.
09-05-2008, 05:58 PM
Yes you can. Keep in mind that there will only be one agg per yardage, so if you are shooting back to back relay's, time will be a consideration. If you set it up to shoot say relay 2 and 4, you will have plenty of time to add some weight. You could also keep it light for each match. Hal

Johnnie from KY
09-05-2008, 06:31 PM
Hal, can you request relays 1 and 3, or 2 and 4? Or is it all done by computer? Or, if i share flags with somebody that is also shooting 2 guns, do we have a choice of who shoots what relays? thanks. Johnnie

Dick Grosbier
09-05-2008, 07:46 PM
Yes you can. Keep in mind that there will only be one agg per yardage, so if you are shooting back to back relay's, time will be a consideration. If you set it up to shoot say relay 2 and 4, you will have plenty of time to add some weight. You could also keep it light for each match. Hal

I am not so sure Hal, and I will not go so far as to say you are wrong but while it is true you can shoot two guns in VFS class, according to Score Committee rulings in the past you cannot shoot the same gun twice in one class. Now if LV and HV classes were being run as individual classes the same gun could be shot twice.

Dick Grosbier

Dick Grosbier
09-05-2008, 07:58 PM
Hal, can you request relays 1 and 3, or 2 and 4? Or is it all done by computer? Or, if i share flags with somebody that is also shooting 2 guns, do we have a choice of who shoots what relays? thanks. Johnnie
Johnnie
If memory serves me correctly IBS rules allow a person to specify up to 3 additional people to share their equipment and a match director must make attempts to accommodate this.

Most match directors try to put people on the rotation they desire even beyond this.
However you are going to find at this point relay one and two are probably all full.

Dick Grosbier

Hal D.
09-05-2008, 09:37 PM
I am not so sure Hal, and I will not go so far as to say you are wrong but while it is true you can shoot two guns in VFS class, according to Score Committee rulings in the past you cannot shoot the same gun twice in one class. Now if LV and HV classes were being run as individual classes the same gun could be shot twice.

Dick Grosbier

Dick, you're probably right, I'm not sure where the score committee stands on this, but you would know better than I. I was actually going from memory from a match last year. One shooter had an issue early on with a second gun and opted to shoot the rest of the agg with the same gun used in the other relay. Won the match. I thought it seemed a little fishy at the time, but I was told that it was OK. I Guess it may not have been...

David Halblom
09-05-2008, 10:11 PM
I am trying to make it to the score nationals next weekend. I hear there are people shooting 2 guns, lv and hv. I only have one gun. Can I shoot it in the lv and then add my weight for the hv? Like everyone else, I would like to shoot as much as possible. Thanks. Johnnie

is Randy Perkowski. 330-472-0856. He is the one who can make those decisions and has ALL the answers

Dick Grosbier
09-06-2008, 07:54 AM
Dick, you're probably right, I'm not sure where the score committee stands on this, but you would know better than I. I was actually going from memory from a match last year. One shooter had an issue early on with a second gun and opted to shoot the rest of the agg with the same gun used in the other relay. Won the match. I thought it seemed a little fishy at the time, but I was told that it was OK. I Guess it may not have been...
Hal
Thats an even grayer area, it is my understanding you cannot shoot same gun twice, but it is also my understanding when your gun fails you can substitute ANY gun that is legal ?? Actually your gun does not have to fail to be substituted. I almost never shoot two guns but I sometimes shoot two in warmup to decide which I think is shooting better.
Dick

David Apple
09-06-2008, 09:36 AM
Grey areas, memory, and other interpretations aside when in doubt consult the rulebook....

In the online rule book, under Score Shooting, section E 4 states that in the case of a malfunction a replacement rifle of the same class may be used.

E 7 allows for the firing of more than one gun as long as registration is done and fees paid. NOTE: This practice is viewed as CONTROVERSIAL by some:eek::eek:

Also found in the rule book under Tournament Rules section H drawing for benches #9 allows for a competitor to identify up to 3 others to share a rotation with. In the case of the Nationals in Ohio, coordination with Randy Perkowski is the way to go.

Randy Perkowski
09-07-2008, 04:34 AM
When asked this question by other competitors the standard answer I have given has been 'no'. The competitors shooting a LV and HV or the ones shooting two HV's will all doing it with two distictly different guns. This is the position I have stated and will stay with that decision.